Information / Links


Dr. Dieter Lutz
Assistent to the Managing Director
Phone:+49 89 30000-3614


Bender, Ralf
Bender, Ralf
Phone: +49 (0)89 30000-3702
Fax: +49 (0)89 30000-3351
Room: X2 390
Caselli, Paola
Caselli, Paola
acting director
Phone: +49 (0)89 30000-3400
Fax: +49 (0)89 30000-3950
Room: X5 1.4.55
Genzel, Reinhard
Genzel, Reinhard
Phone: +49 (0)89 30000-3280
Fax: +49 (0)89 30000-3601
Room: X5 1.3.60
Nandra, Kirpal
Nandra, Kirpal
Phone: +49 (0)89 30000-3401
Fax: +49 (0)89 30000-3569
Room: X5 1.4.13

MPE Organisation

MPE Organisation

The institute is headed joinly by the four directors; every four years the managing director changes.

Managing Director

Prof. Dr. Paola Caselli
Prof. Dr. Paola Caselli
Phone:+49 89 30000-3400Fax:+49 89 30000-3399

Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching

Scientific Members, Directors

Prof. Dr. Ralf Bender (Optical and Interpretative Astronomy)
Prof. Dr. Paola Caselli (Center for Astrochemical Studies)
Prof. Dr. Reinhard Genzel (Infrared- and Submillimeter-Astronomy)
Prof. Dr. Kirpal Nandra (High-Energy Astronomy)

Retired Scientific Members

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Haerendel
Prof. Dr. Reimar Lüst
Prof. Dr. Gregor Morfill
Prof. Dr. Klaus Pinkau
Prof. Dr. Joachim Trümper

External Scientific Members

Prof. Dr. Ewine F. van Dishoeck, Leiden Observatory (NL), MPE
Prof. Dr. V. Fortov, IHED, Moscow (Russia)
Prof. Dr. John Kormendy, University of Texas at Austin (USA)
Prof. Dr. Roald Z. Sagdeev, University of Maryland (USA)
Prof. Dr. Maarten Schmidt, CALTECH, Pasadena (USA)
Dr. Karl Schuster, IRAM, Grenoble (France)
Prof. Dr. Yasuo Tanaka, JSPS, Bonn, MPE


Former Scientific Members

Prof. Dr. Günther Hasinger

MPE Member in Scientific Council of the Chemistry, Physics & Technology Section of the MPG

Dr. Natascha M. Foerster Schreiber

Head of the Administration

Hendrik Wanger


loading content
Go to Editor View