Dr. Esra Bulbul

high-energy astrophysics
+49 (0)89 30000-3502
+49 (0)89 30000-3569
X5 1.4.03

Main Focus

Dr. Esra Bulbul is the lead scientist for eROSITA cosmology and cluster science and head of the galaxy clusters group at the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics. She received her Ph.D. in physics from the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center in 2010. She has held a staff scientist position at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (CfA) and postdoctoral fellowships at CfA, MIT, and NASA Goddard Space Flight Center prior to her arrival at MPE. 

Dr. Bulbul was awarded the European Research Council's Consolidator Grant in 2020 for the project "DarkQuest: Shedding Light on the Nature of Dark Matter and Dark Energy with Multi-wavelength All-Sky Surveys". 

Classes Taught:

General Physics
Introduction to Astronomy
Cosmology and General Relativity

Research Interests:

  • Cosmology
  • Galaxy Groups and Clusters
  • Indirect Searches for Dark Matter
  • Large Scale Structure

Group Members:

Dr. Vittorio Ghirardini, postdoc (2019-present)

Dr. Ang Liu, postdoc (2020-present)

Mr. Emre Bahar, Ph.D. Student (2020-present)

Mr. Yusuf Ozsoy, Master student (2020-present)

Mr. Justo Gonzales, Master student (2020-present)

Mr. Guillermo Ayllon, Undergraduate student (2020)

Open Positions:

Go to Editor View